Big News!

Big news that I can (officially!) share with you all – I am now an associate agent with Curtis Brown, Ltd! I am very, very excited about this. I’ve been with Curtis Brown since 2008 as an assistant to the foreign rights agent, and while some of you may have already suspected (via here, Twitter, etc) that I’m starting to build my own list, please consider this my “official” announcement. Tell your writer friends! And use this link to learn more about what I’m looking for and how to submit a query to me.

So, what does this mean for Glass Cases/mankind in general?

It means that I’d love to keep posting stories and using the blog with my original intention in mind. The guidelines for the blog are on the side, as always, and have not changed. However! I must give the disclaimer that Glass Cases submissions will not be considered queries to me or to Curtis Brown, Ltd. in any way. Any query that shows up in my Glass Cases inbox will get instantly deleted. Please, please use the CB guidelines and send me a query via standard mail or via my CB email address. (Again, see the links above.)

Sorry if this comes off as harsh. I also have faith that you didn’t need to be told in the first place, but sadly I must cover all bases. It’s just that I’d really like to keep up the blog as it is now and not have to worry about my worlds colliding, thus creating chaos.

Moving on.

In more awesome news, here are some links to know and love this week:

1) Janet Reid, Suzie Townsend, and Joanna Stampfel Volpe present A Day in the Life of a Literary Agent. Hilarity ensues.

2) The Rejectionist speaks to MFA graduates who, while taught how to be excellent writers, are not (unfortunately) taught the realities of publishing. (Please read if you are in/graduated from such a program and are trying to get an agent!)

3) Not book-related, but it involves the cast of Mad Men performing the opening of Bye Bye Birdie, which automatically makes it worth watching:

Have a good weekend everyone!

24 thoughts on “Big News!

  1. Congratulations Sarah! I got word on your new “post” from Brian Henry's newsletter (in Toronto). Love your blog and your enthusiasm, you are on my dream query wish list — please check your in-box. You will see me there. Fingers crossed. All the best, B Jas

    Like

Leave a Reply

