I Claim This Book

Happy Columbus Day, everyone! Hope you’re all enjoying the day off.

Columbus Day is about, if nothing else, claiming things and passing them off as your own. It’s also about America. And freedom. And three-day weekends. Or something.

Anyway, Christopher got me thinking – which book would you like to have claimed as your own? If I had to choose just one, it would probably have to be The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon. I wish I could have stolen even one of those amazing plots or subplots that were going on in that book. But alas…

So what would you conquer in the name of You? There are tons of options, but limit yourself to one title just to make it more interesting πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “I Claim This Book

  1. HITCHHIKER'S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY. I've never read it, but as a guy who fancies himself a humorist, might as well take credit for one of the legends in the genre. Either that, or A MILLION LITTLE PIECES, just to mess with James Frey some more.

    Like

  2. I'd probably pick Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. It has so many heartbreaking scenes, so many inventions I kind of wish were real sometimes, and it's all written so masterfully. I love the book to death, but it does make me a little envious.

    Like

  3. The Accidental Tourist by Anne Tyler. Not only she know how to paint characters, but it had a big impact on me when I read it at nineteen. The message that it's not enough to love someone, but it's who you are when you're with them was one I needed to learn. I reread it this summer, and loved it just as much.

    Like

  4. I should've known someone would have already taken my answer! *shakes fist @ Jamie*

    Ender's Game. It's not my favorite book and yet somehow it's the one I would claim hands down.

    Like

  5. Matilda by Roald Dahl. That's one of my favorite books. I remember reading it as a kid, and sometimes I wanted to do those things to my parents or sister. And Goosebumps was sooo the thing too

    Like

  6. For me, it would be Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier – I love every word of that beautiful book!

    P.S. – It's Canadian Thanksgiving, so we have a 3-day weekend as well, plus the added bonus of turkey!

    Like

  7. I didn't get a day off either, but I'm not complaining. If I could claim any book, it'd be The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I just loved the book and if I could have lived through that era to write such a fantastic novel, I would.

    Like

  8. I'm going to be humble here and claim The Old Testament. Those are some bad-ass stories. Imagine it: “The Old Testament” by Nate Graziano.

    Who would play God in the movie version? I'm thinking John Malkovich or the late-Gary Coleman.

    Like

  9. I didn't get the day off. Grumble, grumble, headache.

    One book? Ender's Game. It's not flawless, and it's not even my favorite book, but I think it would be good on my resume. It would say I was gifted at concepts, interior monologue, dialogue, pacing and follow-through. All good things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

